It’s Time

As I watch the Olympics (my favorite competition to watch, possibly ever) and have my first cup of coffee at 7 PM (I stayed away from coffee for 4 days, I’m due), I’m going to write something that’s been on my heart.

Sunday is just about the only morning of the week my bathroom counter is graced with my meager makeup offerings. It’s one of the few days I’ll be around a large group of people at once. Today they were spread on the counter too, but I had to make an attempt to improve my driver’s license picture; picture taking is an exception. Sunday is also one of the few days I make an attempt to dress up. Of course dressing up means pairing a dress shirt with my everyday shorts, but still.

As I was doing my makeup and picking my outfit for church, I started thinking about the impression I’m leaving on others around me; about how much (or little) I’m a witness to anyone. Do I conform to my surroundings, or do I stand on my faith? Am I a light, or do I blend with the dark?

I thought long and hard about what I wanted to say in this post and I feel like it’s time for a statement of faith. I want to preface it, however, by saying I don’t know it all. If that were so, I’d be God. I don’t want that title. I’m okay calling Him Daddy. It’d be awkward if people called me that.

I believe Jesus Christ is our Savior and died on the cross to set us all free. When He died on the cross He took all sin upon Himself and shed His blood to cover and save us. He rose from the grave after 3 days and defeating hell. When we make the decision to believe Jesus as our Lord and Savior we are born again – made new (2 Corinthians 5:17).

I believe in the Holy Spirit and He is who Jesus said: a helper (John 14:26, John 16:7). The Holy Spirit is one part of the Trinity. The Holy Spirit gives us discernment and conviction. The Holy Spirit gives us knowledge, wisdom and words beyond what we could know. The Holy Spirit is also a gentleman and, much like God, won’t force anything on us. When we reach out for help, we’ll get it.

I believe in God. I don’t serve a God who’s in complete and total control. I serve a God that gave us free will. Having free will and having someone control you is a contradiction. God is not a contradiction. I believe He is sovereign in that He knows the beginning from end (Jeremiah 29:11), has ultimate power, created all things and is Lord over all. God loves unconditionally, no matter where we’re at. His love is unchanging, unshakable and unending.

quote-Brennan-Manning-god-loves-you-unconditionally-as-you-are-200705_1

I don’t believe God gives us sickness and I don’t believe He doles out pain for punishment. I don’t believe God tempts us to test our faith (James 1:13-16). I believe God can use each and every situation for good, and I believe He wants the best for us (John 10:10). Sometimes we get sick, but it’s not because God made us sick or die or hurt. We live in a fallen world and sometimes things happen. We can’t fully understand the whys and hows of them, but I do believe we’ll get the opportunity to ask Him someday.

I believe we’re given power and authority through Christ (Luke 9:1-3, Luke 10:18-20) to heal the sick and even raise the dead, among other things (Matthew 10). I also believe these things follow believers (Mark 16:17-18). There is power in prayer, and God hears you when you cry out to Him.

I believe that we’re called to be like Christ; Christ sat with the sinners and went to the Gentiles (Matthew 9:9-13). We’re not holier than sinners, we’re also sinners. Even though Christians have been made new, they (I) still screw up and they (I) still sin. We aren’t perfect because we’re not actually Jesus.

I have read the entire Bible, but I don’t read it enough. I believe the Bible is the word of God, and I stand by what it says. I believe we are under a new covenant (Hebrews 8:7-13) but there is still important things to be learned and received from the Old Testament.

I don’t agree with a lot of things going on in society today and I don’t agree with a lot of lifestyle choices in the world, but I love people – I love the world anyway. I don’t always agree with my husband or children but that doesn’t mean I don’t love them or I wouldn’t do anything for their well being.

I’m a Christian woman striving to love like Jesus and desiring the relationship with Him that I was meant to have. I don’t care who you are, where you came from or where you are; I love you. I may not agree with your choices, but I’m going to love you still. No judgement here.

CVUK5qvUkAABok5

I won’t be a false image anymore. My outward appearance will reflect my heart. I want to contribute change like Jesus. 1 Peter 2:11 tells us to be in the world, but not of it. That’s how I’m going to change the world from now on.

4f125438820642c598581d9d850a6319

 

 

What’s in your heart? What is your statement of faith?

 

Leave a Reply

