38 Weeks – Wowza!

Well, it’s official.  I worked my last shift at Biggby today – my last shift there ever – and on Friday I had my last day for three months at the office.  Heeelllllooooo Maternity Leave! 🙂  I am so excited to be able to wake up whenever I wake up and not have to worry about what time it is or having to be somewhere.  That, I think, is almost the best thing about maternity leave.  The very best thing is getting in some Maya and me time before Baby 2 comes.  On Monday she and I are going on a date – just the two of us.  We are going to a salon to get a pedicure and then we are going out to lunch together.  She is so excited about it!  She cried today because I told her that we weren’t going today, but when I first told her about it she smiled so big that her eyes almost disappeared and she jumped up to hold my whole arm in a hug and said, “Oh, Mommy, that would make me so really happy!”  I just love her.  So stinking much!  The other awesome part about maternity leave?  Sweat pants and hoodies every day! 🙂  Also, being able to paint my nails if I want to.  Can’t wait to pick an obnoxious shade to paint them!  At Biggby, because it’s food and beverage prep, we couldn’t wear nail polish.  Maybe Maya and I will even get matching nail polish.  I told her today that I wouldn’t be going back to work without her again and that for a few months I would be able to be home with her every day.  I have never heard her squeal like that before, haha.  She digs me!

Okay, I’m tired and want to go to sleep soon, so on with the survey!

How Far Along? 38 weeks and 3 days, .

Sex and/or Names:  It’s a GIRL!  Another beautiful Baby girl…Name is picked out – first and middle – but we are waiting to reveal that until the birth….Shut up about it already! ;)

Total weight gain: I have gained nothing since the last appointment so it’s still at 5 pounds.  Whenever we go in there, Maya insists on being weighed too (it’s so cute), and she gained about a pound since the last time and I told her that.  Then I got on the scale saw my huge weight and made about the same comment and the nurse said, “oh no, you’re about the same weight as last time.”  First of all, gee thanks.  Secondly I meant overall since I got pregnant (and let’s be honest – it started before I got pregnant).  Yeah….Praying for like a 20 pound weight loss miraculously happening RIGHT AFTER I give birth.

Cravings:  Cheesecake is something that I’ve been craving on and off for quite some time.  Mostly off, but I really want a piece right now.  SO badly.  I want things – random things at random times  and I have to have them, but they are pretty much just one time things.  For the most part of most days I don’t want anything really.  I’ll get really hungry and eat something, but because I don’t really want anything, I don’t eat until I’m really hungry and then I feel sick after.  I am a very complex pregnant eater, apparently.

Aversions:  Um………Fruit.  It’s sad because I actually really do want to eat fruit, but I’m so freaked out that it’ll be bad inside (our produce dept isn’t awesome) that I’m simultaneously wanting it and being thoroughly disgusted and grossed out by it. <– Still True.

Current Diet:   I don’t particularly want anything  so I don’t eat much.  But when I do eat I try to eat a variety of food groups.   I’m not terribly successful with that.  It ends up being a lot of snack type things because I don’t want to cook and the smell of a lot of cooking makes me a little sick to my stomach.

Showing/How Big:  I think we have upgraded to large pumpkin.

Maternity clothes?  SO those non-maternity jeans that still fit me aren’t fitting me very comfortably anymore.  They have to be rolled at the waist and she dropped so she is RIGHT THERE.  I still wear them but as I said in the beginning of this, sweat pants are my new best friend.  Those and leggings.

Sleep:  I’m tired all the time right now.  I wake up about 6-7 times a night to go to the bathroom and change positions, but I think I sleep pretty well in between those times.  I’m just at the stage where I will always be tired.  It happens in every pregnancy, so I really don’t have any complaints here.  If I expected to sleep really well I would be insane!

Best moment this week:  Our doctor had them take an image of the baby at our last appointment and we could see exactly where she was.  She is no longer in my spine, which I could already tell, but she is definitely in my pelvis – her entire head.  She dropped as far down as she will before labor, and that was kind of neat to see.  It also helps discerning pain from her position and contractions.

Movement:  She is seemingly less active, which is both obvious and normal, but she is still moving a lot.  It just feels slower because she is out of room.  IT takes her a while to move into a position and that can hurt quite a bit.  When I can feel her head rotating in my pelvis, it feels pretty darn near a labor contraction – a BIG one.

Labor Signs:  No labor.  Just contractions here and there and she has fully prepped herself to be birthed.  So that’s pretty cool.

Belly Button in or out? It’s actually 3/4 out.  A couple of times it’s been out all the way and that’s when she arranges herself to be comfortable and me to look awkward and weird, ha!

What I miss:  Um….I could do without the intense pelvic pain.  Looking forward to being able to sit without feeling like I’m going to pee my pants.  That’s going to be AWESOME.

Weekly Wisdom:  Do something for yourself.  Take a day or an hour or whatever and just do something nice, calm and relaxing for yourself.  Soon you are going to have so much to do.  Also, drink copious amounts of water.  Dehydration can lead to false labor, so make sure that you are drinking A LOT of fluid and save yourself the trouble of thinking you have to be rushed to the hospital.

What I am looking forward to:  My maternity leave is going to be awesome!  Tomorrow is the Packer game, Monday I have a date with the best kid EVER, and cleaning projects galore!  I know some might think that it’s sad that I want to clean on my leave, but I really do have things that I need to get cleaned and that’s my plan.  Also, writing.  Writing while Maya naps.  I also fully intend on taking naps and sleeping.  That is going to be GLORIOUS.

Milestones:  Hitting the 2 week mark (or one week or week of – who really knows other than God and Baby 2?).  That’s a pretty huge deal.  It’s. Almost. OVER.

Fruit/Veggie Size of Baby:  Baby 2 is about the size of a leek – 19.75 inches and 6.8 pounds

Sibling and Baby:  Maya has been asking when she is coming.  She so badly wants to play with her baby sister.  When I came home from work today she said, “Mommy, you’re going to help me change baby sister’s diaper, right?”  Ha!

Next Doctor Visit:  October 24th  (Thursday)

IMG_8818 IMG_8821

Leave a Reply

