37 weeks

It’s been a good week since I’ve written to you last.  We are officially in one week appointments.  Now, I know what you’re thinking: “Didn’t she say that like 3 other times?”  At my last appointment we would have moved to every week had I been 36 weeks, but I was 35 so he gave me an option to do one or two weeks.  The time before that a nurse told me it would be every week (I don’t think she noticed how far along I was), and the time before that my doctor was gone so I saw a woman who told me I was a week farther along than my doctor said and she was telling me that I only had one more two week visit and then move to one week visits.  Now, though, there is no way to avoid going in every week!  So I PROMISE this time that I am seeing my doctor every week.  I have the appointment scheduled and everything.

Baby 2 dropped about a week and a half ago.  Maybe a week because it was shortly after my last post.  I am carrying this baby so much differently (Maya was kind of high and in front, and this baby is low and in my spine) and I think that’s why I felt and noticed her drop (with Maya I didn’t know she dropped until my lamaze coach told me that I dropped).  That and the insane amount of pressure on my pelvis is something that I didn’t have with Maya.  The pressure was hurting so bad one night that I thought I was going to throw up, no joke.  That, however was just one night.  Before and since then it’s just been pressure and some soreness which means………………..BABY IS COMING SOON!!!   Of course that is super exciting!

I am a fan of the show, “Parenthood,” (if you don’t watch it, go to Netflix, watch the first 4 seasons, get caught up on Season 5 and start watching it – it’s good!) and was up until 11 on Thursday watching the newest episode (man, 10 at night is just too late to play a show!) and instead of going to bed I thought that i would just “quickly” put away the laundry that I folded during the show.  That and getting ready for bed brought it to 12.  When I finally laid down all I could think about was which rooms needed to be arranged and how, and at 12:30 got up to try and arrange our guest room/Dave’s office.  He would not let me do it (with good reason).  So, I went back to lay down frustrated that I couldn’t get it out of my system and realized, “Oh, wait!  I didn’t pack my hospital bag yet!”  With Maya I had a false alarm 3 weeks prior and didn’t have a bag packed.  So I got up to do that.  At 1:30 I was finished and laid back down.  At about 2 I fell asleep and at 4:30 I had to get up for work.  THAT was enjoyable!  Haha.  This whole nesting thing always gives me inspiration/attack at night!  But, on the upside, my bag is packed and ready to go – also, Maya actually took her nap that day so I was able to get one in too!  A win in my book.

Maya is going to have her first night in her toddler bed  (it’s been taunting her since her birthday party 9/1), so that will be interesting, ha!  Also, my laptop was terribly annoying to work on because if it was moved even a millimeter the power cord would come out and the whole computer would shut down instantly.  So we bought a new battery and a new cord, neither helped.  Day before yesterday (the day I only got 2.5 hours of sleep) my husband came home late from work with a brand new laptop for me.  It made me cry a bit!  Last thing is that after this week I am officially on maternity leave.  Man, I am so excited about that!  Not that I don’t like my jobs, I’m just excited to be able to wake up when I wake up and not have to go anywhere if I don’t want to.  That’s going to be AWESOME.

So, to sum up: Dr appointments every week, baby dropped, hospital bag is packed, Maya is getting her toddler bed, last week of work and then maternity leave and I have a brand new laptop.  GREAT week!  On with the survey! 🙂

 

How Far Along? 37 weeks and 4 days, .

Sex and/or Names:  It’s a GIRL!  Another beautiful Baby girl…Name is picked out – first and middle – but we are waiting to reveal that until the birth….Shut up about it already! 😉

Total weight gain: I gained another pound bringing it to 5……..I think.

Cravings:  Meh.  Food’s not really interesting me at the moment.  Drinks aren’t either….

Aversions:  Um………Fruit.  It’s sad because I actually really do want to eat fruit, but I’m so freaked out that it’ll be bad inside (our produce dept isn’t awesome) that I’m simultaneously wanting it and being thoroughly disgusted and grossed out by it.

Current Diet:   Now that she dropped, I am feeling a little less full, and find myself hungry more, but nothing is appealing to me, so I’ve just been eating whatever is available.  This past week it has been a lot of homemade chicken alfredo, gluten free, of course.  Although, I will say that I have been eating gluten which is not good, but it’s what’s available to me.  So I just need to pray over it before I eat it.  :/

Showing/How Big:  This question has just become silly, but for the sake of “tradition” (you know, because I did it with Baby 1), I will keep it in.  BIG.  Does that suffice?  How big?  About the size of a baby.

Maternity clothes?  I am down to wearing just my one pair of maternity jeans.  My other jeans still fit, but now because of where she has moved to, it’s uncomfortable to have that waist sit on my waist line.

Sleep:  Goodness.  Not really.  If I am able to fall asleep in the first place I am up to go to the bathroom every couple of hours and I need to switch positions about every hour.  My doctor told me that that’s my body prepping for breastfeeding.  While that’s awesome, if I need to feed her in the middle of the night, she comes in bed with me and  I sleep while she nurses.

Best moment this week:  This question always forces me to think really hard…………..I guess her dropping.  Now she can come at any time – tonight for all I know.  And as weird as it sounds, the pressure is the best moment.  I can feel her every move and I know exactly where she’s at.  That’s comforting to me.  And so stinking exciting!!  My good friend, Tiffany, is insisting that it is going to happen in the middle of the night and that it’s going to happen today (to be fair, every day she says, “today.”); she and her husband are my on call people for night time to come and watch Maya.

Movement:  Lots, but now it’s very concentrated, I mean it’s not like the girl has a lot of room!  She readjusts herself a lot, and if I happen to push on my stomach, she will move over.  Considerate, right?  🙂

Labor Signs:  I thought that I was having a few contractions, but when I look back on it, I think it was just her resting or moving forcefully on my pelvis.  It comes in the way of REALLY sharp jabs of pain.  But I think I’ve had a couple contractions here and there.

Belly Button in or out? It’s actually 3/4 out.

What I miss:  Typical answer, but sleep.  Also walking normal.  I have officially began to wobble.

Weekly Wisdom:  RELAX.  Understand that at this time in your pregnancy you are going to be uncomfortable so you just need to take it easy and relax.  Tell your spouse that now you need to be catered to a little bit now.  You need a little more help.  And take some time to just put your feet up.

What I am looking forward to:  This is my last week of work.  I have 3 more shifts at Biggby and 3 at the office and then it’s 3 months of maternity leave.  I have plans for that week before I give birth.  Maya and I are going to go get a pedicure and manicure together at a salon.  It’ll be Maya’s first, and the woman who does them is amazing!  When I was pregnant the first time I did the same thing and she gave the most amazing foot massage and foot bath and I am SOO looking forward to that!  Plus, it’s a Mommy Daughter date and Maya has never had a professional mani/pedi before.  It’s going to be great fun!

Milestones:  Dropping of Baby 2.

Fruit/Veggie Size of Baby:  Baby 2 is about the size of swiss chard – 19.25 inches and 6.3 pounds

Sibling and Baby:  Baby 2 was pretty active 2 days ago and I had Maya feel it and she was so excited!  She kept trying to find where she was after that.  It was so sweet to watch!

Next Doctor Visit:  October 17th  (Thursday)

And the pictures!  They need no caption (I assume)…..

IMG_8791 IMG_8792

One thought on “37 weeks

Leave a Reply

