Wow…Third trimester ALREADY!

Those first two trimesters REALLY seemed to fly by!  We have recently started actively potty training Maya….We bought her a potty chair about 7 months ago and she was really excited about it for a while and she did really well.  Then one day about a month and a half later declared that she doesn’t want to go on the potty anymore…That lasted until about two months ago when we got Skittles and Snickers as an incentive; when she peed on the potty she got 5 Skittles, and when she did the other she got a Snickers Mini (Dave thought that was a little gross, haha).  She did that REALLY well for about a month.  But she never really asked to go potty – it was still us asking her, or when she saw the Skittles bag she would tell us she wanted to go potty.  Anyway, Dave thought that the best way to do potty training by just putting her in underwear and letting her go in that.  I didn’t want to because I thought it would be too messy.  A couple of days later I get a text from my sister-in-law saying that my niece was 3 days accident free…..I asked her how she did it, and it was by doing Dave’s idea, ha!  So we are trying that.  When I’m with her, no accidents ( I ask her a lot if she has to go potty and then when I stop asking she tells me that she has to go), but Daddy is having a harder time (he forgets to take her to the potty and to ask her).  So, it’ll be interesting to see how that turns out!

She is just great, and she is going to be such a huge help with Baby 2.  She’s been more cuddly with Mom too – that is AWESOME!  When we were at our doctor’s appointment yesterday she said (about the doctor), “I love him.”  And who wouldn’t love a guy who gives you suckers every time he sees you??  Speaking of doctors, I will start the survey! 🙂

How Far Along? 25 weeks….6 months and 1 week…

Sex and/or Names:  It’s a GIRL!  Another beautiful Baby girl…No names yet…Although now I am on N in the book – There are 8 that I like…I’m pretty sure that Dave doesn’t agree with me on most!

Total weight gain
: BOO….I have now gained weight…It’s been 5 weeks since I was last seen and I gained 9 pounds since then, bringing my weight gain total to 2 pounds….:(  I know – it was unrealistic to hope I wouldn’t gain any, but I was..

Cravings: Actually, salads…Last night I wanted a taco really bad, but that was just a one time thing…I want nothing heavy…This happened around the same time with Maya…Must be a third trimester thing (that’s right – almost done!!)  Sour cream is another thing that I have been wanting.

Aversions:  I can eat eggs now, but I don’t particularly want them. Chicken is gross, but I’ll eat Salami.  Beef is horrible.  Liquid dairy is also a no go.

Current Diet:  So…I veered off the gluten-free thing a little…I haven’t been able to get my gluten-free bread, so I’ve been eating some of the regular bread (I know, I know), and what else have I been eating……….Hmmm…Seriously drawing a blank here…I guess sandwiches and veggies…..OH!  Snap peas with Italian Dressing…..SO GOOD.

Showing/How Big:  I am big….Not doubt that I am pregnant now!  It’s probably about the size of an exaggerated basketball…:)

Maternity clothes?  Of course!   A duh!  I am definitely going to need to get some more pants for September/October….I was not this pregnant in cold weather with Maya…It was all hot summer and my clothes are reflective of that…Now I need big pregnant girl clothes…I had just bought a maternity shirt for work and I thought I was buying it kind of big….It’s a little tight now….Good thing I bought an even bigger maternity shirt….

Sleep: More now…It’s cooling off a bit and I can sleep a lot easier…But, I have to wake up every couple of hours to roll over….Other than that, I am actually sleeping…So YAY…

Best moment this week: What was the best moment?  How about the best moment since I last did this?  I have no idea…She is moving more forcefully now and that feeling makes me  giggle, so that, I guess…But I don’t want to keep saying that over and over, so I’ll come back to this later….Okay, so technically this is a movement thing, but I saw her really move  on the outside of my body for this first time this week…

Movement: STRONG movement….She is a force that one!  The other day I felt two of my ribs move under the pressure of Baby 2, haha….That was an interesting experience…She has been laying across the width of my stomach up high under my ribs…It’s so neat!  I can almost pick out which end is which!

Labor Signs: Nope, nope, nope.  A duh…More cramping….The past few days if I sit up straight to fast I can feel it right below my belly – like a really sharp cramp…Soon, soon, soon!

Belly Button in or out? Back to fully in – no more almost out….It must have been the way that she was sitting….

What I miss:  Being in the mood for any food at any time….Now, though there is no morning sickness, there are certain foods that I used to love that make me a little nauseous to think of eating….Pictures at a restaurant are hard to see, haha….So nothing big….The only bad part of pregnancy for me (when I was pregnant with Maya too) was the morning sickness and now that that’s done it’s all gravy!  Being pregnant is actually pretty fun! 🙂

Weekly Wisdom:  Don’t compare the two pregnancies (if you were pregnant previously) or to other people’s pregnancies for that matter…There are some things, especially pertaining to work, that are harder this time around and I find myself still trying to get it done because I could do it last time….And then I think about people who I know of (like my mom) that worked insane hours right until birth…With Maya I was able to work 40+ hours every week and while at work I was able to do all amounts of work – heavy lifting, strenuous, whatever….Now….It’s a little hard to sweep the coffee shop after hours, haha….So, Just don’t expect and demand of yourself to do what you were able to do last time around….

What I am looking forward to: Uhhh….Maternity leave, haha….I can’t wait to spend 3 blissful whole months holding my newborn babe and cuddling with my adorable perfect toddler…..At the SAME time…. 🙂

Milestones:  Ummm….Milestones….I have only one more doctor appointment before it moves to every two weeks instead of every 4…That’s all I’ve got so far for that..

Big Sibling and Baby:  Maya is getting more excited about baby sibling….Not so much about feeling baby, but I think that will change when she actually feels a significant movement…She hasn’t yet…But she gets more involved when we are talking about how much she is going to help and be a help…I like to tell her the different ways that she’ll be able to help me with baby and with the house and she gets excited about that…

Next Doctor Visit:  August 15th….It’s three weeks from my last appointment because there was 5 between the previous two….After that it’s every two weeks!!!!  WOW!!!  Did I mention, SOON, SOON, SOON???

6 Month picture enclosed……IMG_8481

Leave a Reply

