Baby Number TWO!

Soooo…..I meant to start this about 4 months ago…I didn’t…This pregnancy has been so drastically different from the last one that I feel like I am learning all over again about being pregnant…Want a story?  I am going to tell you one whether you like it or not…….

So we were (and by we I mean I) was planning a trip to Disney World for the Heet family (party of three – Dave, Maya and me) and the Stokes (family of 5)…I spent weeks on it – WEEKS…Researching everything: rent a house or stay on site, rent a car or hoof it everywhere, how many rooms are required, meal plan or grocery trips, etc….I wrote up spreadsheets that included savings plans (by month) according to 4 different trip options…There were a couple of nights/mornings that I stayed up until 5 AM finishing it….The morning I finished I was up until 6; I was SOO proud of the work (I mean, those spreadsheets looked GOOD), and I couldn’t wait to show it to Dave!  He looked at it for about 5 minutes and said, “We can’t go to Disney World, you know that right?”  This came after me asking him a week in if he was sure that we were doing this because I didn’t want to put so much work into something that would end up being pointless…And he said that yes he really wanted to go and we would be going….SOOO…..After he told me that we weren’t going we talked for a bit and he offered a GENIUS way to both make me feel better and that was infinitely better….”Well, if we’re going to try for a baby,” he said, “we shouldn’t waste all that money on a big trip.  We should save up for the baby.”  He is a sly one, that husband of mine…I think he offered it up because I was upset, but I was not going to let him get out of it that easily!  He went back and forth between wanting that and not for about a week and then thought of another compromise…I know, my husband is a mastermind, right?  We would start trying January 1st 2013…A new year a new addition, right?  I should note that the DW planning was completed at the end of November 2012…

SOO….I downloaded an app on my Kindle to keep track of all of my cycles and I began planning (I can’t help doing it with EVERYTHING – that’s what I do!) actively while Dave thought we were going to passively wing it…Much like Baby Heet number 1…Ha…He really should know better after 6 years of marriage and 10 years together…Christmas came and went, New Years came and went…I took two tests in January both negative (duh)…I started to talk myself down so I wouldn’t get excited and convinced myself I forgot about it…Man, good acting skills on my part – I almost actually forgot!  Anyway…I was at work about the second to last week in February Talking with Ka-Ka-Ka-Ka-Kayla about how many people I knew that were pregnant (which was up to 9), and she had been vying for a pregnant me since November…Well, probably before November…It was at that point that I started to count backwards…She also did the math and we realized it was about 5 weeks since I had a period…GASP…I, again (I know, the skills – good glory), convinced us that I had the dates messed up and I wasn’t really pregnant…I came home waited until 10:30 PM for Dave to get home from work and talked to him about it and I told him that I’d take a test but it’d probably be negative and he agreed but suggested I take one anyway…I took the test and went back downstairs to go about my business….About 10 minutes later Dave asked what it said to which I replied that I had no idea…I had sort of forgotten about it (really this time)…So he checked…The next thing I heard was, “So how accurate are these things anyway?”  I told him usually pretty accurate….He said, “Well, then according to this……You’re pregnant…”  It may not sound like it, but it was kind of hard to tell if he was excited or not….And so started our journey….

I had a doctor’s appointment exactly one week later and the following week I had to leave town for 6 weeks to do training for Biggby Coffee (the company I work for opened a Biggby Store here and I was being brought on as a manager of sorts, so the owner and I had to undergo said training 4-5 days a week 5.5 hours away downstate)…Something funny about being two months pregnant (yeah, it was not long into January when we conceived), morning sickness tends to strike….Wanna know what triggered my morning sickness?  The smell of coffee….Ohhhh….It was a delightful 6 weeks….I was away from my toddler, and my husband, throwing up several times a day and unable to endure the smell that permeated everything.…Add to that super little sleep…I was never so pleased to see a time come to an end!  When we got home from training I was 4 months pregnant and we began the opening procedures for Biggby….I didn’t have time to do anything!  THEN Biggby opened and I began working 6-7 days a week and didn’t have time to do anything let alone this….Now that Biggby has been open for almost 2 months, things have calmed down, become more routine and I am nearly 6 months pregnant!  WOW!

Reading back over this, it sounds a lot negative, but I really do enjoy being pregnant….I’m just tired and uncomfortable, but all I have to do is reach down and put my hand on my stomach to feel this amazing miracle move, or just to feel her still and everything is right again…

So, I decided to do the survey schtick…I was going to do a different survey, but really I couldn’t find any that I liked….SO…Here we go! Also, pictures of the progression of my pregnant belly!  🙂

How Far Along? 23 weeks….5 months and 3 weeks…

Sex and/or Names:  It’s a GIRL!  Another beautiful Baby girl…No names yet…I have only gotten to E in the baby name book – thank God I throw NOTHING away! 🙂

Total weight gain
: NONE, ha!  I’ve lost 7….With Maya at this time my weight gain was at 3, so I consider that an improvement…I NEEDED to lose weight anyway…What better time to get healthy, right?

Cravings: At the moment, nothing….When I was first pregnant, I wanted nothing….The thought of eating food made me sick….Eating food also made me sick…Then I wanted tuna…Honestly, I ate it….More than I was supposed to…Then became shamed and stopped eating it…Then I wanted Pickles…Seriously…I ate about a jar a week for about three weeks…Okay, that’s quite the exaggeration…At least 2 jumbo pickles a day and only Claussen pickles (don’t believe the adds – all other pickles suck)…Also, pickle juice on pizza….DELISH…Now I don’t really want anything…I am doing a lot of the McDonald’s Ice again….Also Dr. Pepper….But I don’t really want any food.

Aversions:  I want nothing to do with meat, eggs or dairy….All gross….Seriously, the thought of it makes me queasy….

Current Diet:  Because I didn’t really want anything I wasn’t eating much…Turns out being pregnant with an empty stomach feels an awful lot like morning sickness…So then I just started eating what was available, which, more often than not, was food that was loaded with gluten or loaded with fat/grease…Breads and seasonings, potato chips, etc…I was even eating Ramen Noodles too, but at least had common sense enough to stay away from all other pastas….I started to feel like total crap because DUH, not supposed to eat that stuff…I made a decision to start eating better not only for my health, but also for Baby #2…Right now my diet consists of a ton of veggies and fruits and Gluten Free homemade sandwiches…

Showing Since:  I have been showing since month 2ish…Only a bit, and really I just looked fat because of the clothes I was wearing…However, because I was essentially retaining nothing in terms of sustenance/food, I was losing weight and I could see my pregnant belly… 🙂

Maternity clothes? Yes, but to be fair, I never really stopped wearing maternity clothes…Pants anyway…Hey, have you ever worn them?  Then don’t judge!  It’s like wearing fancy sweatpants everyday and in public!  Blissful *sigh*…  🙂  A friend of mine gave me some maternity tops of hers as well to add to my collection…I really love to show off my belly!  🙂  Well, I like to see it, anyway…Just don’t touch it….Ever… 🙂

Sleep: I am no longer sleeping comfortably.  But, I don’t know that I really have at all this pregnancy…Now, though, it’s so freaking hot in our room that I can’t get comfortable!  I have a pain right above my left hip on my back too that I don’t remember having with Maya…

Best moment this week: Umm…All the weeks have run together….But I’ve gotta say that feeling her move will never cease to amaze me…A month ago (hey, I can use a month ago – no one knows anything about those first 5 months) we saw the ultrasound and saw it was a girl…We also had the opportunity to see how different our two kids are already…Baby #2 was docile, but she did not  like the ultrasound….wand….thing in her space, much like her older sister…

Movement: Lots of movement by our little girl.  I have been feeling her movement for about two months now…Dave also felt her around the same time…THAT was exciting!  There are times I can actually feel her jumping off of my bladder…It actually makes me giggle…It tickles a bit…Ha

Labor Signs: Nope, nope, nope.  A duh…Some pains in my stomach that I didn’t remember having with Maya, but the good doc reminded me that I most likely did…It’s baby growing…Ha…Did I feel silly!

Belly Button in or out? In, but almost out…She sits rather high a lot…Pretty much right on top of my rib cage…

What I miss: I don’t really miss much…I hang out with Maya when I am out of work, but I am quite tired a lot…Which makes me a little cranky…Sometimes a lot cranky…The tired though may not entirely be from pregnancy…Could be from eating bad and lack of sleep…But that’s about it…sleep…

Weekly Wisdom:  Sleep when you can…If you have a child that takes naps, take a nap at the same time…Don’t try to get a bunch of stuff done while they sleep…Wait until your spouse comes home and have them watch your child while you get some stuff done…Or put it off until you have energy…I promise, that boost of energy will come soon!

What I am looking forward to: That burst of energy that begins the nesting phase…I remember that when I was pregnant the first time and I got SOO much done!  Dave and I are actually making a list of things that need to be done in and around the house…I can’t wait to begin…I’m getting more days off at work which means more rest and more time to get it done…SO exciting!  And I have a helper this time around! 🙂  Also, not that this baby will know what’s happening, we are very much looking forward to our vacation in Higgins Lake next week with Grandma Marilyn and her family!  It’s fun when we go there…AND relaxing, so that’s for this baby, right?  🙂

Milestones:  Huh…Can’t think of any…It’s all milestones…That’s what comes of getting to this point of the survey at midnight…If I think of one, I’ll get back to you… 🙂

Big Sibling and Baby:  Maya enjoys to “wake up” baby…I did that once so that Maya could feel her move and now she will come up to my belly and shake her and poke at her…Tonight she talked to my belly and told “baby sisser” that she loved her and she also prays for her at night…She’s got the big sister thing DOWN….She is going to ROCK IT…Also, a big plus:  she is no longer using her play saw and sawing into her baby dolls or using her hammer to pound on them or using her screwdriver to fix them….Really, she was doing that in February…Now she feeds her babies, swaddles them, makes sure they are warm and comfy and cuddles with them; she’s got this!

Next Doctor Visit:  Thursday (always a Thursday, we have a new OB this time and the whole family loves him…We liked Maya’s doctor too, but this one has my sense of humor and is very informative…But they are both pretty awesome.) July 25…

The blue and white stripped shirt is at 2.5 months…The Blue dress is at 3 months…The pink and orange stripped is at 4 months and the Packer shirt is at 5 months…After my next doctor visit I will post my 6 month picture….

3 Months 4 Months 5 Month Packers

One thought on “Baby Number TWO!

  1. AHHHH! thanks for doing this! Melinda and I are looking at these pics right now! 🙂 Your belly is so cute! I’m so happy for you guys!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

