40 Weeks….What??

So, when did 40 weeks happen??  I remember thinking, “This pregnancy is going to take forever – August will never come!”  But, then August came.  It feels so weird.  To think that in the next week and a half we will be parents (or sooner) is mind-boggling!  I started my maternity leave, and I have actually been taking it easy, and my husband has been more affectionate with me than he has in a while – it’s starting off pretty great!  He is also being very protective over myself and our little Maya.  He doesn’t want me to drive around anywhere without him because, what if I go into labor?  Haha.  Tomorrow is our 3 year wedding anniversary and I asked him if we could go out to Applebees and he said, “What?  No; you’re going to give birth any minute.  I would rather just stay at home until we’re ready to go.”  He is so sweet! 🙂 I am feeling a little sick after my gross lunch, and now Maya has the hiccups.  Those are so fun to watch! 🙂  And now, on with the survey

How Far Along? 40 weeks

Total weight gain: I didn’t gain or lose weight the last two weeks (save for losing .2 pounds and gaining .3), so the count is still at 10 pounds.

Cravings: Really all I want is McDonald’s ice.  Everything else makes me a little nauseous.  I just don’t want food, at all.  This, if you notice, is still the same as last week’s survey.  although, I only want one 32 oz glass of ice rather than two.  Two kind of makes me feel like I’ve overdone it now.

Maternity clothes? Yes, but since my maternity leave, I have been wearing a lot more of our (yes, I squeeze – I mean that literally – into my husband’s ts as well as my own) t-shirts and my pre-pregnancy tank tops with my maternity bottoms.  My size large maternity jean capris are a little snug in the tummy area.

Sleep: My muscles and my body ache, so that’s making it a little hard to sleep.  Also, the feeling of acid rising in my throat doesn’t help with the sleep.  However, the upside to maternity leave is that I am better able to sleep during the day (I don’t know why), so I have been taking a nap everyday which is nice.

Best moment this week: Hmm……Maternity leave?   Cuddling with my husband stomach to stomach and him feeling her move.  I guess that would be the best moment.  I am too tired to think more.  Also, we found out today that she is in the 70th percentile in terms of weight.  She is a little over 3,000 grams which is 6 pounds and 6 ounces (I’m pretty sure he said 3,134 grams which is 6 pounds and 9 ounces.).  That was pretty interesting! 🙂

Movement: For sure.  Doctor did say today that she was dropping and at Lamaze tonight, the instructor/nurse felt my stomach and said that it felt like she dropped.  But I thought she dropped because there is suddenly an awful lot of pressure on my pelvis and on my lower back.  My lower back on the left side on the pelvis hurts a lot.  Almost here! 🙂

Labor Signs: I have been having contractions for the past couple of days, but they aren’t too consistent yet and are still hours apart.  My doctor said that if she’s not here by August 27, he is going to induce me, because he doesn’t want me to go past 41 weeks.  That, coincidentally is my next doctor’s appointment.

Belly Button in or out? Out now! 🙂  And I thought this day would never come! 🙂

What I miss:  Still the sleep.  Also, I miss being able to lay down comfortably.  Although I am able to sleep better during the day then at night.  I also miss having my body and muscles free of aches.

Weekly Wisdom:  Take it easy and relax, relax, relax when you are so late in your pregnancy; you will need all the energy you can get and soon….Or so I’m told! 🙂

What I am looking forward to: Seeing my mom and meeting Maya.  I am also strangely looking forward to going into labor and being done! 🙂

Milestones:   Um…..These are getting kind of hard.  Relaxing, I guess.  Well, more accurately, being able to relax.  All I want to do is sleep (that doesn’t mean that I do, just that I want to).  I have been so keyed up these last few months and have been so busy doing things and getting things done and organized that I haven’t been allowing myself any time to relax.  Once my maternity leave started, it’s like some instinct kicked in and I have been lounging.  Part of that is due to my husband not wanting me to go anywhere without him.  He’s afraid I will go into labor somewhere and 1. he won’t be there or 2. I will be out somewhere unable to get to him or the hospital.

And here is my picture(s) for this week.

Leave a Reply

