6 MONTHS! Holy crap!

So, I have officially entered my third trimester.  I didn’t think this time would ever get here when it was January, but it sneaked (I really think that using that word sounds ridiculous and not in the proper tense – it should be snuck, but that word apparently doesn’t exist; I thought it did, didn’t you??)  up on me!  Only three months left (approximately) before we meet our little baby girl.  Well, actually, a little less than three months now.  It’s crazy to me how time flies by and that Dave and I will have a little girl who God has put directly in our care; a little angel that we will be responsible for and care and love for the rest of our lives.  What a scary joy! :

How Far Along? 24 weeks and 3 days; AKA 6 months and 3 days.

Total weight gain
: 3 pounds….TOTAL.  I’m pretty excited about that, although EVERYONE is telling me that all of the weight starts to come in the third trimester. I expect this number to go up soon, then.  I only have 17 more pounds that I am supposed to gain (doctor said he wants me to gain no more than a total of 20 pounds).

Cravings: BREAD.  Lots and lots of bread.  But not my gluten-free fish……stuff.  Real bread.  I want wheat bread and hamburger buns and Subway’s Italian Herb and Cheese bread.  Not going to lie; I have given into it way more than I am supposed to.  I’m not supposed to eat it at all because it damages my small intestine, but when the cravings are there it’s hard for me to separate want from need – they feel the same to me… 😦

Maternity clothes? I have some, but I have to order more.  I wore jean capris to work the other day (we are allowed to wear jeans Friday through Saturday if we pay a dollar each day we wear them) without knowing if capris were allowed or not.  I told my boss that I realized I did that but that I really didn’t care – they are the only maternity pants I have (well, that and another pay of capris that are khaki).  SHe laughed and said I probably shouldn’t say that to her, and then later on said oh so casually, “You’re going to be getting more, right?”  Ha, well, today is the last day of the 30% off sale at Old Navy where EVERYTHING is 30% off, and I think I am going to order some from Old Navy today.

Sleep: I am no longer sleeping comfortably.  I feel like I want to lay on my back, but that hurts my back.  What I really want to do is getting a reclining chair of some sort and sleep that way.  That is really the position that I want to sleep in.  We will see.

Best moment this week: I don’t know if it was this week, but Dave got to feel her kick.  She was going crazy one night (it seemed to last for hours), and Dave made it over to me in time to feel it.  It was such a sweet and special moment.  Now, we’ve started to talk to her a lot (Dave bends down to speak directly to her through my belly) more and we are able to feel her more.  What a sweet joy!

Movement: Lots of movement by our little girl.  Sometimes when I’m working a long shift she hits kind of hard (it doesn’t hurt per say, but it is really uncomfortable), and I think that that’s her protesting.  Other times, she seemingly gets wound up suddenly.  It feels really weird at times, but nonetheless, beautiful.

Labor Signs: Nope, nope, nope.

Belly Button in or out? I don’t think I’ll ever have an outie.

What I miss: I don’t know.  Maybe just when I could go through the day and if I didn’t eat much – no big deal.  Instead of NEEDING to eat every couple of hours.

Weekly Wisdom:  Not sure I have any.  I guess, listen to your body.  Don’t be too proud to stop doing something.  Like with work: I used to be able to work 10 and 12 hour shifts without a problem.  Now, I just can’t do it.  I can barely work an 8 hour shift.  But, yesterday I worked a ten-hour shift and my back was in so much pain when I got home yesterday that I thought I was going to cry.  We have another pregnant girl at work who is only three weeks behind me and she is able to work those shifts.  I find myself comparing my experience with hers, and I didn’t want to say anything about not working the long shifts because she can, and I have always been able to handle a heavy workload.  But, I have to be humble and honest and tell them that I just can’t do it now.  BE HUMBLE.  That is my weekly wisdom for you.

What I am looking forward to: Is it heartless to say for the pregnancy to be over?  This week just seems to be rough.  I wake up sick (it doesn’t feel like morning sickness, I just feel sick) and it lasts throughout my day and everything I eat seems to make it worse.  So maybe not for the pregnancy to end, just for the sickness to go away.  Can I have that, please?

Milestones:  I’m doing these within a few weeks of each other and I still have the same answers.  Feeling her move.  I guess the other would be her being able to hear us really well, but that’s not really a milestone for us.

Enclosed is the weekly picture. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

