5 Months and…………….

Okay, so it has been over a month since I last wrote one of these.  The motivation is lacking, and this has surprisingly been a really busy time for me!  I have been traveling a lot, and actually get to see my family and some old friends (let me clarify:  they’re not old because of their age – that would mean I am old, and I am not – but because we’ve been friends since second and third grade) this weekend in Appleton.  I also get to buy maternity clothes (thank goodness!) and eat off of The Olive Garden’s gluten-free menu.  I could not be more excited!  In my absence from blogging, I have had an ultrasound and a doctor’s visit, my sisters came to stay with me for a week, I went through a very emotional visit with my family in Escanaba, I got to spend a day and a half with my friend-family in Marquette and say goodbye (she’s moving with husband and baby) to a very dear friend, bought gender appropriate clothes for the baby, gave baby a name, got to spend time with a friend now living in Virginia, spent the holidays with family and worked a lot.  And so, without further ado, (you all know the drill now) on with the survey…..

How Far Along? 20 weeks and 6 days.

Total weight gain
: My total weight gain is .2 pounds.  I have finally surpassed my starting weight by .2 – not bad, huh?

Cravings: Last week it was Subway (which regrettably, because of my disease, I ate), today it has been fast food burgers and fries (which also regrettably, because of my disease and other obvious reasons, I ate).  But yesterday I craved pop tarts (which I also shouldn’t have eaten) and a tomato with ranch dressing (that one was okay).  So none of the same cravings.  But it seems like what I am craving is rich flavors.

Maternity clothes? I bought one non-maternity shirt that works really well, I have the few shirts my mother-in-law sent me, and I have some empire waist dress shirts for work.  After this weekend, however, I will be stocked with them from bras to pants! 🙂

Sleep: I hear a lot that sleeping is hard for pregnant women, and I got that at first (what with the vomiting and nausea), but now I sleep fine.  I am tired around 10, and can sleep for HOURS.  But, I have been having to wake up early and go to bed late because of visitors and what-not.  I have found that even though I am tired throughout the day when I get little sleep, I can’t nap unless I got only 4 or so hours of sleep the night before.  So, I guess that’s good.  I don’t really like staying up late anyway.

Best moment this week: When I was driving home at 11 at night from Escanaba on Easter (and what a great day to have this happen), I felt Baby Heet kick and/or punch.  I think it was kick because of where I felt it.  I mean, it wasn’t on the outside yet (obviously), but I felt it on the inside – it was so precious!

Movement: I felt – only on the inside – Baby Heet kick.  It was amazing.  This thing God has allowed me to participate in is just amazing.

Labor Signs: Nope, nope, nope.

Belly Button in or out? Still in, but my belly button has been hurting (not like a sharp hard pain, but just an uncomfortable occasional hurt) lately.  I have 2 scars inside my belly button from when I had surgery last June, and that’s where the hurt is.  I don’t know if that means that my belly button is starting to be pushed out and that’s causing it, or if my body is just quirky.

What I miss: Being able to think of any food and not wanting to vomit, and walking into a house that smells like food without getting nauseous.

What I am looking forward to: When Dave and I can both feel the baby from the outside.  I can’t wait for him to experience it with me.  He’s nervous to push on it to feel it, I can’t wait for him to just put his hand there and feel it.  It makes me kind of sad that only I can now.  He loves our baby so much that I want him to be able to feel everything I feel.

Weekly Wisdom:  Ask for help, especially if it comes to lifting something or pushing yourself.  Today at work, I tried to lift a 37″ TV to bring it to a different department.  After a few minutes of trying, I was convicted in my spirit and had to ask for help.  It wasn’t too heavy, but it was big and would have gotten awfully heavy carrying it all that way.  When I called to ask one our stock guys for help, I was apologetic, but he said, “No problem I will be right there.”  I am caring for something other than myself now and I need to remember that.  Also, because your balance gets worse, try to be more careful and cautious of your footing.  Again, while at work today, I was up on a ladder and our HR rep walked past me, laughed and asked what I was doing up there, that I shouldn’t be on a ladder because I was pregnant.  Although I think it’s okay, I noticed when he said it that I wasn’t being too cautious of my footing even though I was on the top step.  I checked it, and one of my feet was half-way off the step.  One tiny move and I would’ve fallen backwards.  Be cautious of your balance.

Milestones:  Our ultrasound on March 20th that told us Baby Heet is Baby Maya Lyn Heet – it’s a girl!  It was the most amazing thing to see.  She kept flexing her hands, and when they were trying to get a picture she kept kicking and jumping.  At one point it literally looked like she was bouncing up and down on her bottom.  She was very still at first, and when the ultrasound started, the girl was pushing kind of hard on my belly.  Then, it looked like Maya started swatting at things above her head.  My conclusion is that Baby Maya does not like the mornings any more than mommy does, and this thing poking at her head woke her up and she was trying to get rid of it.  After that, she was awake and very active.  Hmmm…I wonder if that’s a sign of things to come…….?

Enclosed is the weekly picture.  It doesn’t seem that different from my week 16 picture, or does it?  What do you think?  Also enclosed is Maya’s second (and more defined) picture of her life.

P.S. I can’t wait to see Mandy’s pictures – hint, hint, Mandy!

Leave a Reply

