Watch yo bag!

Note to self (and to any others that may be close to me): full bags of Doritoes are not safe around me!  I got off of a 9 and a half hour shift, and I couldn’t think of anything that I had at home that didn’t make me want to throw up.  It just so happened that I had some things to pick up at work after work and as I walked past the pantry section I wanted Cool Ranch Doritoes so badly; surprisingly, the thought of those didn’t make me want to throw up.  Then I wanted eggs and bacon.  The perfect dinner – don’t lie, you’ve thought about that yourself.  So, I picked all of those up, but I was too tired to cook just then and settled down with my bottle of water and bag of chips.  I swear it was only a few minutes but when I looked back down into that bag there was less than a quarter of a bag left!  How the crap did that happen??  Seriously!!  I had to literally force my husband to take the bag from me and eat the rest of the chips.  The sad thing is that I still wanted bacon and eggs.  The Doritoes gave me energy and I made dinner for the hubs and I.  I thought I was still hungry after that, but then I stood up.  Oh, I was really not hungry; really not at all.  The moral of the story is that you can not leave a full bag of chips around this pregnant woman!

So, on Christmas day, we were able to share the news with our family (finally!) and it was so good!  We put copies of our ultrasound in cards (of course the pictures were covered up).  We were at Dave’s parent’s house first and Marilyn had the honors of reading the card.  She got pretty excited when she saw what it was and what it said (in between the two pictures I wrote, “we’re pregnant!! :)”) and that was nice.  It was Dave, me, his brother and his parents.  Then we went to Escanaba and everyone had already opened their presents, so it was just the presents from Dave and I that they had to open and there were 11 adults (not including Dave and I) and the 4 kids.  So the very last present was our card and we called everyone into the living room and made everyone be very quiet.  I asked who wanted to read it, and my little sister, Kelsey was all about that.  She read the card and then unfolded the piece of paper.  My other sister, Heather, was reading over her shoulder and already having a child, she recognized what the picture was of.  Neither Kelsey nor  Heather read what the pictures said out loud or showed anyone else the picture, Heather just cried and hugged me while Kelsey screamed and hugged me.  Needless to say, there was confusion to be had, so I had to gently say, “Kels, you have to tell them what it says.”  Well, she didn’t just say it, she screamed it.  Loudly.  Then Gram started to cry and even my dad got teary!  It was wonderful!  We felt so blessed and my dad would not let go of that ultrasound picture to save his life!  My uncle called from Florida for his annual Christmas call and the first thing my dad said was, “I’m going to be a grandfather!”  He’s so proud!  What an amazing blessing this baby already is!!  Thank you Jesus for this miracle!!

2 thoughts on “Watch yo bag!

  1. I want to cry every time I see you. I am so excited, the baby is going to be so spoiled and loved!! I am so happy for you. I also wanted to know how you can eat chips and other things that will make you sick from being allergic to gluten?

    Like

    • Cool Ranch Doritoes don’t have gluten in them….It only a little bothersome to eat them, but not bad at all. The only thing that they have in them is “spices” and it’s only recommended that I not eat them because I don’t know what’s in the spices…But I don’t eat them often because of it. 🙂 And I am all for spoiling and loving this baby!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

